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State Home Foreclosure Prevention Project (SHFPP) 
Managed by the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency (NCHFA) 
Frequently Asked Questions for Servicers  
Updated – November 19, 2012 

 
The following FAQs are intended to provide guidance to Servicers regarding compliance with the 
requirements of Article 11, Chapter 45, of the N.C. General Statutes, which amended the Emergency 
Foreclosure Reduction Program established in 2008, by Session Law 2008-226, (HB 2623) and 
amended by Session Law 2010-168, (SB 1216), s.1-5, and Session 2011-288, s. 1-5 (HB 484).  Further 
amended by Session Law 2012-79, (SB 826).A copy of the current law may be found here (see pages 
14 and 15).   

 
1. Who is required to file information with the pre-foreclosure database? 
 

For any foreclosure filed on or after November 1, 2010, any person, entity or mortgage servicer 
that services “home loans,” as that term is defined in N.C.G.S. 45-101(1b) must file 
information with the pre-foreclosure database.  

 
2. What is a “home loan” under N.C. G.S. 45-101? 
 

A “home loan” is a loan which: 
 
A. Was made to a natural person; AND 
B. Is a debt incurred by the borrower primarily for personal, family or household purposes; 

AND 
C. That is not a “jumbo loan” pursuant to Fannie Mae guidelines at the time of origination; 

AND 
D. Is secured by an interest in the borrower’s principal dwelling for property located in the 

State of North Carolina; AND 
E. Is secured by: 

a. a security interest in a manufactured home as defined in G.S. 143-145; OR 
b. a mortgage or deed of trust on real property upon which is located an existing structure 

designed principally for occupancy of from one to four families; OR 
c. a mortgage or deed of trust on real property upon which there is to be constructed using 

the loan proceeds a structure or structures designed principally for occupancy of from 
one to four families, which when completed, will be the borrowers principal dwelling; 
AND 

F.  A purpose of the loan is to: 
a. Purchase the dwelling; OR 
b. Construct, repair, rehabilitate, remodel or improve the dwelling or the real property on 

which it is located; OR 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/BillLookUp/BillLookUp.pl?Session=2007&BillID=H2623
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/BillLookUp/BillLookUp.pl?Session=2009&BillID=S1216
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2011/Bills/House/PDF/H484v2.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2011/Bills/Senate/PDF/S826v5.pdf
http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2011/Bills/Senate/PDF/S826v5.pdf
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c. Satisfy and replace an existing obligation secured by the same real property; OR 
d. Consolidate existing consumer debts into a new “home loan.” 

 
3. What loans types are excluded from the definition of a “home loan” under N.C.G.S. 45-

101? 
 

The following loans types are excluded: 
 
A. An equity line of credit as defined in N.C.G.S. 24-9; OR 
B. A construction loan which is due and payable in full not later than 18 months from the date 

of origination or otherwise defined in N.C.G.S. 24-10; OR 
C. A reverse mortgage; OR 
D. A bridge loan with a term of 12 months or less. 

 
4. How is information filed with the pre-foreclosure database?  
 

Existing servicers will log into https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx to 
submit filings.  New servicers will need to set up a log-in NC Housing Finance Agency 
(NCHFA).  Instructions are available at 
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx. 

 
5. When will the pre-foreclosure filing database be available?  
 

The pre-foreclosure database is currently available for all “home loans.”  Servicers may access 
the database through each of the following ways: 

 Direct System Link:  https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx 
 Administrative Office of the Courts Website:  http://www.nccourts.org/  
 NC Foreclosure Prevention Fund Website at: 

http://www.ncforeclosureprevention.gov/info_partners.aspx 
 
6. What is the required contact information that must be included in the pre-foreclosure 

notice?  
 

The required contact information for the pre-foreclosure notice is for the NC Housing Finance 
Agency.  The address is 3508 Bush Street, Raleigh NC  27609-7509, and the phone number is 
1-888-442-8188.   

  
7. Where can a servicer find a list of HUD-approved counseling agencies operating to assist 

borrowers to avoid foreclosure?  
 

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development maintains a list of HUD-approved 
counseling agencies.1 In addition, the State Home Foreclosure Prevention Project has published 
a list of counseling agencies in North Carolina that are participating in State Home Foreclosure 
Prevention Project. This list is available at 
http://www.ncforeclosureprevention.gov/get_help_mortgage_payment.aspx.   

                                                           
 

https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
http://www.nccourts.org/
http://www.ncforeclosureprevention.gov/info_partners.aspx
http://www.ncforeclosureprevention.gov/get_help_mortgage_payment.aspx
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8. When does the servicer have to file the information with the pre-foreclosure database? 
 

The mortgage servicer must file certain information with the pre-foreclosure database within 
three (3) business days of mailing the pre-foreclosure notice required by N.C.G.S.  45-102. If 
more than three (3) business days have passed and the servicer has not entered the required 
information into the database, a new 45 day pre-foreclosure notice must be mailed and the 
matter entered into the pre-foreclosure database within three (3) business days of the 
subsequent letter. 

 
9. What information is required to be filed with the pre-foreclosure database?  
 

Servicers will need to provide the following information for every notice submitted to the 
database:  
 
A. Name of the borrower(s);  
B. Address of the borrower;   
C. Date the pre-foreclosure notice was mailed to the borrower; and  
D. Due date of the last scheduled payment made by the borrower – this will be the regularly 

scheduled due date of the last full payment received from the borrower. 
 

10.       What additional optional information will servicers be able to provide to assist the  
State Home Foreclosure Prevention Project’s outreach efforts to homeowners?  

 
The database will permit servicers to provide additional contact information which may enable 
the State Home Foreclosure Prevention Project to target its outreach efforts and to connect 
homeowners to available resources, i.e., phone numbers and email addresses. The database will 
also enable servicers to identify loans by the servicer loan number, identify whether the 
servicer believes the property is vacant or if the servicer has knowledge that the homeowner 
has recently lost a job.  

 
11.       Are there any origination dates that would eliminate the need to file a loan with the  

database? 
 

No. For any loan for which foreclosure proceedings are begun on November 1, 2010, or after, 
all time period limitations were eliminated pursuant to S.L. 2010-168. Any loan that meets the 
definition of a “home loan” under N.C.G.S. 45-101 must be entered into the database prior to 
proceeding with foreclosure regardless of the date of origination.  

 
12.       Why are phone numbers of homeowners requested?  
 

A key component of our program is the State Home Foreclosure Prevention Project’s effort to 
contact homeowners directly.  We have the capacity to make outbound phone calls to 
homeowners to complement existing efforts by creditors and servicers to reach homeowners.   
Please provide phone numbers, if available, to allow us to assist you in reaching borrowers as 
well as to support our outreach efforts. 

 
13.       Can a servicer send in a batch file of pre-foreclosure notice filings?  
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Yes.  Any servicer that is interested in batch filing should contact labarber@nchfa.com to 
setup, test, and beginning submitting files via batch upload.  

 
14.       What evidence will servicers need to prove they have complied with this program?  
 

Clerks of Court are vested with the authority to determine if a foreclosure filing meets the 
requirements of Chapter 45. The pre-foreclosure database enables servicers to print a certificate 
directly from the database which indicates that the loan was filed in the database, that the 
servicer has submitted the date of the pre-foreclosure notice to the database, and that the period 
of time required by the statute has elapsed as of a particular date. This certificate cannot be 
printed prior to the end of the time period required by the statute. 

 
15. What should a servicer do if servicing is transferred after the AOC filing, but before the 

filing of the foreclosure proceeding?  
 

If servicing is transferred after a pre-foreclosure notice is filed, the new servicer should send 
the homeowner a new pre-foreclosure notice and re-file the information with the database to 
ensure the homeowner has received the correct contact information for the mortgage servicer 
authorized to work with the borrower to avoid foreclosure.  The new filing will ensure that the 
correct certificate is available to the servicer. 

 
 
16.       How will servicers be notified if the NCHFA extends the foreclosure filing date by 30  

days?  
 

The NCHFA will notify the servicer by mail at the contact address provided in the database.   
In addition, servicers will be able to review the status of each loan submitted to the database to 
identify if a foreclosure filing date has been extended.  
 
Additionally, IF servicers have filed a contact email address within each specific loan filing, an 
email notification email will be sent to that email address.  A mailed notice will still follow to 
the contact address provided in the database.    

 
17.       Is there a fee for filing a loan with the AOC database? 

Yes. Upon the filing of the information required under N.C.G.S. 45-103, the mortgage servicer 
shall pay a fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) to the State Home Foreclosure Prevention Trust 
Fund.  The fee shall not be charged more than once for a “home loan” covered by N.C.G.S. 
Article 11 of Chapter 45. 
 

18.       How does billing and fee payment work? 

General Process: 
A. All fees, invoicing and payment processes will be handled through the pre-foreclosure 

database; 
B. No paper invoices will be provided to the Servicer; 
C. Monthly invoices will be available by logging into the pre-foreclosure database 

mailto:labarber@nchfa.com
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
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D. ACH payments or paper checks are accepted;   
E. Failure to submit timely payment will result in a freezing of the Servicer’s ability to use the 

pre-foreclosure database. 
 

Fees: 
A. The $75.00 fee is assessed to the servicer at the time a loan is initially submitted to the pre-

foreclosure database; 
B. The fee for each loan will be invoiced on the first day of the month following the date the 

loan was submitted to the database; 
C. The servicer identity is tracked by the database access login information for billing purposes 

and will be invoiced by that servicer name; 
D. No fee is incurred for subsequent filings of the same loan in the database; and 
E. The process for tracking, whether a submission is an initial filing or subsequent filing, is 

identical to the process used to identify and link files under the current process. 
 

Invoicing: 
A. Invoices will be generated on the first day of the each month;  
B. All loans will be billed monthly on the first of the month following the date the loan was 

registered in the database (e.g. all loans submitted during June 2011 will be billed July 1, 
2011); 

C. Invoices will be available to the servicer by logging into the pre-foreclosure database; 
D. After logging in, the Servicer can see if invoices are pending by accessing the “Unpaid 

Invoice link”; 
E. The servicer will also be able to click on the “Paid invoices” link to review all invoices paid 

to date; 
***Paper invoices will not be provided to the Servicer AND invoices will not be emailed  
     to the Servicing Qualifying individual.*** 

 
Payment: 
A. All invoices are due 15 days after the invoice date; 
B. The invoice will be late if not paid within 15 days of when the invoice was generated 

(January 1, 2013 invoice will be late on January 16, 2013); 
C. Payment must be by ACH or paper check; 
D. If the Servicer chooses to pay by ACH, the database will request the necessary information 

for payment processing;  
E. If the Servicer chooses to pay by Paper Check, to ensure prompt processing, please adhere 

to the following: 
o For standard USPS mail: send to P.O. Box 28066, Raleigh, NC 27611 
o For overnight mail: send to 3508 Bush Street, Raleigh, NC 27609 
o Include the SHFPP invoice ID in the memo of the check 
o Send to the attention of “SHFPP Payments Team” 

A. Once payment has been received by NCHFA, the pending invoice will be marked as paid 
and will be available for viewing through the “Paid Invoice” link. 

 
Penalty for non-payment: 
A. The invoice will be late if not paid within 15 days of when the invoice was generated 

(January 1, 2013 invoice will be late on January 16, 2013); 

https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
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B. If the payment is not received and the invoice is considered late, the servicer will not be 
able to submit new pre-foreclosure notices or print certificates until the late invoice is paid; 
AND 

C. Once the invoice is paid in full, full database access will be restored. 
 

SHFPP Filing Fee Credit Request Process: 
A. If a servicer thinks they have been charged the $75.00 fee in error, the servicer should pay 

the invoice in full to avoid suspension of access to the database. 
B. To request a credit for a filing fee charged in error, servicer must request a credit through 

the “Invoice Detail Page” of the pre-foreclosure database. 
C. If a credit is approved, the credit will appear on the *next invoice following the notification 

of the credit.  *Invoices will only be generated if new pre-foreclosure filing activity equals 
or exceeds the amount of credits approved (If 15 new pre-foreclosure filings are submitted 
in January, 2013 and 20 credits are approved in that same month, the system will generate a 
zero balance invoice on February 1, 2013.  The additional 4 credits owed to the servicer 
will sit in a to-be-invoiced queue until 4 additional new filings are submitted by the 
servicer). 

D. Suspension of access to the database will not be stopped during the credit request review 
process. 

 
19.       How does a servicer set up an account with the State Home Foreclosure Prevention Trust  

Fund? 
 
Invoices are payable directly through the pre-foreclosure database by ACH.  The payment 
information should be entered directly into the database, through the “Unpaid Invoice” link. 
Therefore, no servicer billing accounts are needed and servicers do not have to set up any 
billing accounts in advance of using the system.  Note – paper check payments are also 
accepted. 

20.       What if I cannot print the certificate? 
 
A. A certificate will not be available for loans submitted to the database by a servicer with an 

outstanding balance due to the State Home Foreclosure Prevention Trust Fund. 
B. The certificate will not be available for printing prior to the earliest possible court filing 

date shown for the particular loan. 
C. The certificate will not be available for printing if the servicer received an error code 

indicating a problem with the information submitted to the database address. 
D. The certificate will not be available for printing if the matter was resolved through a loss 

mitigation workout between the servicer and borrower prior to the printing of the 
certificate. 

E. The certificate will not be available for printing if the address provided in the system is not 
recognized by the United States Postal Service as a valid or deliverable address. 

 
21.      Where can a servicer get assistance with SHFPP Certificate questions or issues? 
 

The servicer can email certificates@nchfa.com or call (919) 981-2675 for questions or 
concerns regarding certificates. 
 

https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
mailto:certificates@nchfa.com
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22.      Where can a servicer get assistance with SHFPP filing fee credit request questions or  
issues? 

 
The servicer can email FilingFeeCredits@nchfa.com or call (919) 981-2697 for questions or 
concerns regarding SHFPP filing fee credit requests. 
 

23.      Where can a servicer get assistance with SHFPP invoice payment questions or  
issues? 

 
The servicer can email FilingFees@nchfa.com or call 919-981-2675 for questions or concerns 
regarding SHFPP invoice payment. 
 

24.      Where can a servicer get assistance with new or existing pre-foreclosure database access  
&/Or contact update questions or issues? 

 
The servicer can email PreFCFilingAccess@nchfa.com or call 919-981-2675 for questions or 
concerns regarding new or existing company access &/Or contact updates. 
 

25.      Where can a servicer get assistance with 30 Day Extension questions or issues? 
 

The servicer can email caxtell@nchfa.com or call 919-981-2675 for questions or concerns 
regarding 30 day extensions. 

 
26.      Where can a servicer get assistance with submitting filings via batch upload? 
 

The servicer can email labarber@nchfa.com or call 919-981-2697 for questions or issues 
regarding batch uploads. 

 
27.      Where can a servicer get assistance with questions concerning statutory filing     

requirements?  
 

The servicer can email Mary Holder at mmholder@nchfa.com or call (919) 981-2511 for  
questions or concerns regarding statute filing requirements.  

 
 

mailto:FilingFeeCredits@nchfa.com
mailto:FilingFees@nchfa.com
https://www.nchfa.org/SHFPPOnline/fcs/Companylogin.aspx
mailto:PreFCFilingAccess@nchfa.com
mailto:caxtell@nchfa.com
mailto:labarber@nchfa.com
mailto:mmholder@nchfa.com

